Youth and Adult Leader Award Knots

The following are the current youth and adult awards knots available. The requirements to earn and wear each award can be found by clicking on the requirements link, when available, under each award. A brief description of each award is listed below.

Cub Scout Arrow of Light
(Youth Award)
Boy Scout Eagle Scout
(Youth Award)
Eagle Award with
gold & sliver palms
Sea Scout Quartermaster
(Youth Award)
Venturing Silver Award
(Youth Award)
Venturing Leadership Award
(Youth Award)
Explorer Silver Award Explorer Achievement Award or Exploring G.O.L.D. Award
(Youth Award)
Air Exploring Ace Award
Honor / Heroism Awards
Medal of Merit Heroism Award Honor Medal
Youth Religious Award
(Youth Award)
Adult Religious Award Religious Youth Awards:
may be earned as a Cub Scout, Webelos, Scout & Explorer w/ respective device displaced.
Tiger Den Leader Award Den Leader Award Webelos Den Leader
Cubmaster Award Cub Scouter Award
Den Leader Coach Award

Scouter’s Training Awards:
Boy Scouting
Varsity Letter
Sea Scouting
Roundtable Staff
Scouter’s Training Award Sea Scouter’s Training Award
Scouter’s Key
Varsity Scout Coach
Venturing Advisor
District Committee Member
• Commissioners:
District/Asst. District
Scoutmaster’s Key Venturing Advisor’s Key Skipper’s Key
Award of Merit
Varsity Team Coach
Award of Merit
Venturing Advisor’s
Award of Merit
Sea Badge Venturing Leadership Award

International Scouter
Commissioner’s Arrowhead Honor Distinguished
Service Award
Professional Training


George Meany
Whitney M. Young
Service Award
O.A. Distinguished
Service Award
Hornaday Award Spurgeon Award District Award of Merit
Silver Beaver Silver Antelope Silver Buffalo
Silver World Award Scouting…Vale de Pena! Service Award Asian American Spirit of Scouting Service Award
Community Organization Awards Distinguished Eagle Scout Award



These devices should be stocked by your local Scout Shop or council trading post, along with all other advancement items. They may not be available at  commercial Scout supply distributors.

The first four, shown to the left, are used on the universal youth religious award knot.

The others, along with the Cub Scout, Boy Scout, and Venturing devices are worn on Training Award and Scouter’s Key Knots.

The Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Varsity, and Venturing devices are also used on the W. D. Boyce New Unit Organizer Award.


The BSA Stock numbers for these devices are as follows:
• Cub Scout device
• No. 00926
• Webelos device
• No. 00932
• Boy Scout device
• No. 00927
• Venturing device
• No. 00930
• Varsity Scout device
• No. 00928
• Sea Scouting device
•  (Formerly called Sea Exploring)
• No. 00931
• Commissioner device
• No. 00871
• District Committee device
• No. 00872
The Exploring Device shown is no longer listed in the Insignia Guide. It had the same stock number as the current Venturing Device (No. 00930), and may no longer be available.




When an award is given to a Scout or Scouter that also has a related square knot, the knot may be worn by itself on the uniform or with one of the devices depicted above to indicate the program phase where the award was earned. For example, a Unit Commissioner that earns the Commissioner Key (same knot as the Scouter Key) would wear the Commissioner device. If a Scout or Scouter earns a subsequent award represented by the same knot, the Scout or Scouter should wear a device for each program phase where the knot was earned (you do not wear multiple issues of the same knot). In particular, a Scout that earns a sequence of religious emblems would wear ONE universal religious emblem knot and up to four devices, as described below.


• Wear the CUB SCOUT device for the first level emblem (God & Me, Maccabee, etc.) earned as a Tiger Cub or Cub Scout;

•Wear the WEBELOS SCOUT device for the second level emblem (God & Family, Parvuli Dei, Aleph, etc.) earned as a Cub Scout or Webelos Scout;